The Montgomery County Sheriff’s
Office along with The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is beginning
enforcement efforts across Montgomery County focusing specifically on
violations of the state’s Move Over/Slow Down law. This enforcement operation will take place in Montgomery County on
Wednesday, Feb. 21, from 6 a.m. to 1 a.m.
The law, originally passed in 2003,
requires motorists to move over or slow down when certain vehicles – including
police, fire, EMS, Texas Department of Transportation vehicles and tow trucks –
are stopped on the side of the road with emergency lights activated.
Texas Transportation Code 545.157
states that a driver must either:
-Vacate the lane closest to the applicable vehicles stopped on the
side of the road (if the road has multiple lanes traveling in the same
-Slow down to 20 mph below the
speed limit. (If the speed limit is below 25 mph, the driver must slow down to
5 mph). Drivers should only move over if they can do so safely and
legally; otherwise, they should slow down.
Violations of the law can
result in a fine of up to $200; the fine increases to $500 if there is property
damage. If violators cause bodily injury, they can be charged with a Class B
misdemeanor, resulting in possible jail time and a maximum fine of $2,000.